partyiorew.blogg.se

Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit
Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit







mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit
  1. #Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit install#
  2. #Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit upgrade#
  3. #Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit pro#

It will give you an option of which disk to use as your Startup Disk. To do that, simply restart your computer, and hold the Option key down on the keyboard. After it completed installing, I could then choose that drive to use as a Startup Disk.

#Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit install#

Then it asked me on what drive I wanted to install OS X Mavericks on, and I chose the new Seagate drive.Then I went into the App Store, and downloaded the OS X Mavericks install file, and once it was downloaded, double-clicked on it to start the process.I went into Disk Utility, and erased the new Seagate hard drive, choosing the Mac OS Extended (Journaled) format.After installing my new hard drive into the hard drive enclosure, I plugged it into the computer and saw that it was recognized as an external drive.Once you have all the supplies, this is how I did everything, and found it to be quite easy. And here is the iFixit tutorial that will tell you exactly what you need to do.I will say that there are some precision toolkits that you can buy that have all of these things (the spudger, Phillips 00 and T6 Torx) that might be cheaper than buying them individually. A spudger (iFixit recommends using one of these to detach the battery I used my fingers, but a spudger would have been easier).A T6 Torx Screwdriver (for removing the retaining posts).A Phillips 00 screwdriver (for taking the screws out of the bottom of your MacBook Pro).The best part is I can throw my old hard drive in it once I wipe it, and then I have a very small, portable, external hard drive. I went with the Sabrent Aluminum Enclosure, which I really liked. I hadn’t used this before, but this was super handy for doing the upgrade. They’ve made both computers I’ve used them in operate so much faster. These drives are amazing and I haven’t had any problems with them. I would recommend the Seagate 1TB Solid State Hybrid Drive. But first, here are the things you’ll be needing: I physically replaced the hard drive in about 5 minutes, but the prep work to get the drive ready took a bit longer than that.

#Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit upgrade#

I did this back in 2010 with my late-2008 model MacBook Pro, and it worked so well, I figured I would follow a similar process to upgrade the hard drive on my mid-2012 model MacBook Pro. So I figured it was time to upgrade my hard drive on my MacBook Pro. I then realized that with all of the photos/videos I take of Caleb, plus the movies and tv shows I download…I only had about 30GB left on the 750GB drive that came with the laptop. Kind of a disappointment because it is only a mid-2012 model, and I’m hoping to get a year or two more out of it.

#Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit pro#

About a month ago my MacBook Pro started to really slow down.









Mac new hard drive disk utilty ifixit